The state of Virginia takes all acts of abuse against children and minors very seriously and have devised a set of laws and punishments that deal with people who take part in these actions. In Virginia, Indecent liberty is a major part of these regulations and the code of Virginia clearly defines that an individual who is 18 years of age or more can be convicted if they commit any of the acts detailed in this article with a minor who is 15 years of age or less.
The first and main act within this law is the exposure of genital parts. It includes the exposure of the genital parts of the offender to a minor or the encouragement or forcing of a minor to expose his or her genital parts. This is valid for any individual who is a minor and is not the legal spouse of the offender. Furthermore, it extends towards the use of words or force to entice the minor to touch, fondle or perform acts of sexual nature upon the perpetrator or the perpetrator himself or herself tries to touch or fondle the private parts of a minor.
Second come the act of taking, forcing or inviting child or minor to a place that could be anything ranging from a home to a school or office; basically any place where the invitation is with the intent to perform acts of sexual nature with the minor. Just the act of taking a minor to such a place with this intention is enough to cause a person to be convicted based on the evidence suggesting the nature of intended acts.
Furthermore, an individual who is 18 years or older and takes part in some form of deal by receiving money in return for putting a child in a situation where others can perform acts of sexual nature by coercion or force is in danger of being found guilty of a class 5 felony. Moreover if the same individual commits this crime a second time, or a subsequent violation of previous orders classifies to be found guilty of a class 4 felony. This only applies however if the person was found guilty and convicted of their charges by a judge in the court and they knowingly and admittedly commit the crime again.
Another aspect of this law concerns with direct family relations including parents, grandparents and step parents. If any of the people from these categories commit indecent liberties with a minor who is between the ages of 15 and 18, then those individuals are found guilty of a class 5 felony while in the cases of any people from this category committing this crime with individuals who are less than 15 years of age, the offenders are found guilty of a class 4 felony.
In conclusion, the state of Virginia has an extensive set of laws that cover all the offenses detailed in this articles and all the convicted felony consist of jail time as well as lump sum fines.