What is reckless driving in Virginia and how it is different from a speeding ticket?
In Virginia there are two major speeding tickets; one is handed out for going beyond the absolute stated speed limit, and the other one is handed when someone is violating the basic speed limit in the region.
Absolute speed limit
Absolute speed limit means that driver is prohibited to go beyond the speed limit even by a single digit. The police officer will hand you a speeding ticket if you are caught driving at 56, in the area where the stated speed limit is 55. However, if you are caught driving at 75 or above, you will be convicted of committing a criminal offense.
Basic Speed limit
The basic speed limit in Virginia states that a driver should be careful while driving on the highway of Virginia irrespective of the absolute speed limit. If the driver is found carelessly driving in Virginia, he will be convicted of reckless driving. However, a minor mistake of speeding will be categorized just as improper driving.
Reckless driving laws
In Virginia, any careless act of driving which can cause potential harm to any living thing or property is deemed as reckless driving. Reckless driving is considered as a major traffic violation, and therefore it is categorized as a criminal offense.
Reckless driving by speeding
In Virginia, there are almost 14 different elements which contribute to reckless driving. Reckless driving by speeding is one of these 14 elements, while the other includes general reckless driving acts causing accidents or potential harm to any living thing or property. Driving with faulty breaks or driving an overloaded vehicle is also considered as reckless driving. According to the Virginia code section 46.2 – 862:
“A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.”
Reckless driving in Virginia ticket cost
If you are convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, you are even subjected to plenty of penalties. These penalties include:
- Hefty fines up to $2500
- Suspension of the driving license for six months
- Imprisonment for up to 12 months
- Up to 6 Demerit points in the driving records of the driver
- Record of the reckless driving ticket for at least two years
- Hike insurance premium as you have received a reckless driving ticket
- Disturbed personal and professional life
- Loss of job
In case of Felony Charges
According to Virginia’s law section 46.2 – 868, a person is convicted of felony charges of reckless driving in Virginia for two reasons:
- When the careless driving has resulted in any other individual’s death.
- When the driver is caught driving with a suspended license
Reckless driving in Virginia ticket cost in case of felony charges:
Felony is a huge crime, and therefore it carries more serious charges than general reckless driving. If an individual is convicted of any such crime, he/she might serve, one to twenty years of imprisonment along with hefty fines.