Reckless driving law of Virginia
In Virginia, multiple acts that can be a cause of your reckless driving ticket. If your driving is dangerous in any manner, which can endanger or harm any life of human being, it can be deemed as reckless driving. The law can charge you a reckless driving ticket even for speeding, texting while driving, not acknowledging the traffic signals, or even carelessly driving while ignoring the current traffic/weather conditions. According to the Virginia Code, section 46.2-852:
“Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.”
What is the difference between a reckless driving ticket and a speeding ticket
There are different elements of driving that are deemed as reckless driving in Virginia. These elements even include reckless driving aggressively and speeding. In Virginia there are usually two kinds of speed limit:
- Absolute speed limit
- And basic speed limit
If you violate these speed laws, you will be given a reckless driving ticket, however, if you violate them in a careless manner such as speeding too much or too carelessly, you will be handed a reckless driving ticket.
According to the Virginia code, section 46.2-862:
“A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.”
What is Virginia reckless driving fine amount?
As Virginia is strict in dealing with the violation of its laws, the Virginia reckless driving fine amounts are hefty than a simple speeding ticket. The reckless driving fine can generally range up to 2500$, however, it depends on the severity of your criminal offense. Virginia has divided the criminal offense into 3 basic categories, these are as follows:
- Traffic infraction: Traffic infraction incudes simple charges such as speeding tickets. They might reflect on your driving record but they won’t be categorized as a criminal offense.
- Misdemeanors: Misdemeanors are more serious criminal offense and the offenders can be penalized with potential jail time and hefty fines.
- Felonies: Felonies are extreme cases, where the judges and law enforcement authorities deal with the offender quite harshly. Virginia reckless driving fine amount increases if you are charged with a felony. In case of reckless driving, if your driving caused any injury or death then you might face felony charges.
- Fine: Fines for felony can lead to $3000
- Jail Time: up to 5 years of jail time
- License suspension: up to 2 years of license suspension
Generally, the Virginia reckless driving fine amount ranges in between $300 to $1000 along with the court fees which could add further 80$ to your expense. The court decides these fines on the basis of your case and therefore it could even lead to $2500 on multiple factors.
What are the other penalties for reckless driving?
- Demerit points
- Hiked insurance premium
- Jail time
- Loss of job
- Permanent record of committing a criminal offense
- Problem in security clearance
Suspension of the driving license